Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Disney

Well I finally made it to Disney World after a horrible plane trip with 3 lay overs that lasted 14 hours in all...... so yeah it wasn't very fun.  But I finally got to Orlando and finally got picked up by my hotel which was actually pretty nice.  I thought I was going to have to get one with two beds because that's all they said they had but when I got there I was able to get one with just one king size bed and when I laid down and just passed out.  I guess that's what happens when you try to sleep on a bench inside of the airport for 4 hours ugghh.  When finally I got to Disney it seemed like all I was doing was filling out paper work, doing background checks, and getting interviewed all day for 2 days before I finally had time to myself.  Much of this was actually standing in line to do these......After finally getting that done and even having to go the the Social Security Building to specifically get a new card because I forgot mine...... I finished and moved in.  I have 3 roommates Chase, Sam and Dallan. 



From Left to Right Emma, Emily, Sarah, Tonya, Me, Nicole, Chase, Charity, Carissa, Sam and Dallan
Since I have finally gotten to Disney I have made a group of friends, also from the BYU schools, pretty quickly that I run around with.
The Great Castle of Disney
The Angel Gabriel
 
The Pagoda in Japan and the Sultans Palace in Morocco  

 

 

 

 



Brenna, Me, Nicole, Sarah and Carissa just before watching Illuminations in Epcot.

Brenna, Me and Allison on the teacups.

  

The creepy statue lady that just wouldn't let go and the dragon from Pete's dragon just before he breathed a bunch of smoke.
Me and Nicole attempting to catch the water Stitch squirts into our mouths.


Me, Kira, Emma, Pirate Goofy, Brenna, Sarah, Allison.


Street performers in Magic Kingdom

Emily, Tonya, Buzz Lightyear, Me and Carissa


Some of us playing in the fountain in Downtown Disney I ended up getting pretty wet from it and felt like a kid.  But it was far to worth it to ever regret it.

A picture truly worth a thousand words.
While here I have promised myself that I would take more pictures, because as a general statement I suck at it.  Though I think there would be motivation if I didn't have a 5 year old point and shoot, but in the end that's just an excuse.  Thankfully I have been improving and these are just some of the pictures I have been taking and some are from my friends cameras too.    I wish I could get more into photography, but I think I would get more motivation if I took a class.  But until I can afford those it will be just another fun half accomplished projects of mine. 

I finished the book "Catching Fire" by Suzanne Collins which is the second book of the Hunger Games Trilogy.  And now I quickly moved on to the next and final one of the series "Mockingjay."  Its a a great series a little gritty, but it has a great idea behind it and really makes you think of where society is going.  Although the whole putting a bunch of humans in an arena and have them fight to the death isn't new.  (I mean look at the ancient gladiatorial matches of Rome.)  It is slightly scary about the thought of a government getting so powerful that it gets to the point being in absolute power and the general population is in just depths of slavery and fear.  Though reading these books really gets me in the revolutionary mood.  I probably shouldn't watch V for Vendetta anytime soon.....


I guess this whole SOPA doesn't help with this that really has me feeling a little disgruntled with the whole idea of the government having a little too much control over the internet.  Thankfully with this there has been such a public backlash that even the large companies like Google and Go Daddy to change sides.  Finally after a large black out of the internet the bill was then stopped in Congress and is being reviewed for another draft.

I now am deciding as it is getting so late that I will stop doing these long huge drafts, but actually try to get back to my small every day entries that I kind of miss doing.  Though just like exercising its going to be tough habit to get back into.  I really wish I had a more focused personality, but in the end it is only my decision of what I want to be like and nobody can stop me.  Except for myself.  So bring it on. 

 A song I have been listening to a lot lately to motivate me is Good Feeling by Flo Rida and my favorite part is this verse
The mountain top, walk on water
I got power, feel so royal
One second, I'ma strike oil
Diamond, platinum, no more for you
Got adrenaline, never giving in
Giving up's not an option, gotta get it in
Witness I got the heart of 20 men
No fear, go to sleep in the lion's den
That flow, that spark, that crown
You looking at the king of the jungle now
Stronger than ever can't hold me down
A hundred miles feelin' from the picture smile
Straight game face, it's game day
See me running through the crowd full of melee
No trick plays, I'm Bill Gates,
Take a genius to understand me

I guess that is to me is just that have a great outlook on life and live better then all those around you don't keep consistently comparing yourself to those around you.  If you really do that you will rise above and become something truly amazing, your full potential. 
I felt like this video was applicable to my post and well its just awesome and I highly recommend it. 

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I suck at this sometimes.....

Well it has about 2 months since the last time I posted in this with a combination of finals, traveling home, Christmas/New Years and well lets be honest just laziness.  So lets see I finished off the semester with generally good grades though my physics class wasn't quite as good as I wanted but I only have one more and the labs and I am free of Physics thankfully.  I also finished off the last of my Calculus classes and besides my Discrete math I am done with all of my math classes which is a relief.  Though I am not looking to discrete math because that is supposed to be a really tough and pretty much the last of the weed out classes for the Computer Science major.  So I figure if I can only have to take it once and not come out with too bad of a grade then I will be doing great hopefully it doesn't mess up my GPA too terribly bad.   I finished off my work for the semester being a Tech which is great and I have the job guaranteed for next semester which is really exciting I feel like I am learning a lot and enjoying working with my boss.  I guess it just shows you really have to go through a lot of crappy jobs and bosses before finally landing one you like.  I just hope this doesn't restart once I get more into my career because that would suck.....


I then headed home for the little break I get before heading to Florida which was filled with a lot of fun times with my family and my many nieces and nephews.

Nathan and Parker doing uhhh actually not sure, but its cute.

Me Christmas morning waiting for the presents to be passed out.

So we decided to do a white elephant with the kids with stuff from the dollar store and since me and Greg are single we were deemed to be part of the kids.


As they get bigger wrestling has gotten more intense heres me on the bottom of the dog pile.

Here is me working my way up the pile of bodies.

Now I am on top of the pile and victorious. 
This break was really great for me I really needed the time to relax and unwind and play some SWTOR that is.  Surprisingly I have not being putting nearly as many hours in it as I expected though that could be its still pretty glitchy and that bugs me occasionally though its not surprising its still brand new.  So far I am really enjoying it. I also recently got Skyrim which is a lot of fun because the game enables you to play with an x-box controller on the computer I went out and got one which I was going to get one soon anyways because FIFA 2012 also allows you too which is next on my to purchase list.  But until then I have been playing around with the demo.  I also got the game Bastion as a gift recently from my friend Matt which I plan on trying to start sometime soon when I can it looks like a fun little RPG.

Abed and Troy when they do their Spanish rap.
Lindsey Stirling
I also recently got addicted to the show called community.  (mainly because I am caught up on the current season of castle :(.......)  But so far I am like the show a lot I am am just about done with the second season and must say that the Troy and Abed make that show amazing though the rest of the characters are pretty entertaining as well.  Some of the things they do remind me of things me and my roommates do or it makes me want to try next semester.  Probably the best is when they create a huge tent city in the dorms that expands full dorm halls and creates a society in it.I also recently got pretty much all the seasons of the show House which I have watched occasionally but never in order by any means.  I also am going to try out American Horror Story after hearing good reviews on TRS (Totally Rad Show).  I have also been getting really into a youtube artist, I guess you would call her that, named Lindsey Stirling, she plays the violin and dances and does not only traditional classical music, but also does pop and rap music and it overall is amazing.  Including doing some scores from the Zelda franchise which of course has always been close to my heart. 










This is a video of her doing Silent Night to wrap up the holidays.





To start the new year right I made my new years resolution and hopefully do better then i did last year.
  1. Exercise Daily
  2. Read my scriptures daily
  3. Update my journal daily and my blog weekly
  4. Read 10 books.
  5. Drink more water.
  6. Run in a 5k race.
  7. Take more pictures.
  8. Keep a 3.0 GPA these upcoming semesters.
  9. Build a new computer
  10. Actually make a bucket list and complete at least 2 things on them this year.